Tephrodornithidae – Woodshrikes & Allies

Black-winged Flycatcher-shrike Hemipus hirundinaceus ©Francesco Veronesi (Creative Commons) Website

The Tephrodornithidae are a passerine familly of Woodshrikes and allies newly delineated after DNA sequencing. It includes the genera Hemipus, Tephrodornis and Philentoma. The family was proposed in 2006 on the basis of a molecular phylogenetic study by Moyle which showed a close relation between Hemipus and Tephrodornis. Some taxonomists argue for a broader treatment of the genera under the Vangidae. According to the IOC there are 8 species, which are:

Bar-winged Flycatcher-shrike Hemipus picatus
Black-winged Flycatcher-shrike Hemipus hirundinaceus

Large Woodshrike Tephrodornis virgatus
Malabar Woodshrike Tephrodornis sylvicola
Common Woodshrike Tephrodornis pondicerianus
Sri Lanka Woodshrike Tephrodornis affinus

Rufous-winged Philentoma Philentoma pyrhopterum
Maroon-breasted Philentoma Philentoma velatum

Number of Species
  • Number of bird species: 8

Fatbirder - linking birders worldwide... Wildlife Travellers see our sister site: WAND