Free and Sovereign State of Morelos

Black Skimmer Rynchops niger ©Ian Montgomery Website
Birding Morelos

Morelos is one of the 31 constituent states of Mexico. Morelos has an area of about 4,941 square kilometers (1,907.7 sq mi), making it the second-smallest of the country’s states. Morelos is bordered by Mexico State to the north-east and north-west, the Federal District to the north, Puebla to the east, and Guerrero to the south-west. In the 2007 census, the population of the state was 1,612,899 people.

The capital of Morelos is the city of Cuernavaca. Morelos also contains the cities of Cuautla, Jiutepec, and Temixco, and the pre-Columbian ruins of Xochicalco.Morelos was named after José María Morelos, one of the leaders of the Mexican War of Independence.


Abbreviations Key

  • NP El Tepozteco

    WebpageSatellite View
    El Tepozteco es una zona arqueológica situada en Morelos, México. Sitio localizado a más de 2,000 metros sobre el nivel del mar y de 600 metros sobre el valle de Tepoztlán
  • NP Lagunas de Zempoala

    InformationSatellite View
    Lagunas de Zempoala National Park is a natural protected area which consists of a group of seven lagoons. In the Nahuatl language, "Zempoala" means "place of many waters." The park is located between the states of Morelos and State of Mexico, Mexico.

Fatbirder - linking birders worldwide... Wildlife Travellers see our sister site: WAND

Skip to content